Store

List of posts

The Metabaron returns in 2016

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

The Metabaron, the seminal character created by Alexandro Jodorowsky and Mœbius in 1980, returns in a powerful new “space opera” in June 2016.


The Metabaron was introduced to the world in the international bestseller The Incal, first created by Jodorowsky and Mœbius. Followed by The Metabarons, a Sci-Fi saga with art by Juan Gimenez and dedicated to the ultimate warrior’s genealogy. It rapidly came to be THE “space opera” series of the 1990s, with more than one million copies sold, and translated throughout the world to this day.


In the final pages of the first season, the question of what became of the last of the Metabarons went unresolved. No Name, as he is known, chose to leave behind no descendants to prevent the bloody ritual of the Caste of the Metabarons from being perpetuated – that in order to become the new Metabaron, the son must kill his father.


In June 2016, Humanoids will unveil part of the mystery, publishing the first volume of Metabaron, a four-book series based on a story by Jodorowsky and written by Jerry Frissen with each book drawn by a different artist.


Valentin Sécher, will be the first to take up the mantle, more than ten years after Gimenez last drew the iconic character. Sécher burst onto the scene with the series Khaal: Chronicles of a Galactic Emperor, and is today considered one of the rising stars of European comics.


Niko Henrichon will grab the reins. An internationally-recognized creator, he is best known for the 2006 graphic novel The Pride of Baghdad, written by Brian K. Vaughan. He recently drew the graphic novel Noah, directly linked to the eponymous film by Darren Aronofsky.


David S. Goyer (screenwriter of the Dark Knight trilogy, Man of Steel, Batman vs. Superman: Dawn of Justice), emblematic figure of the crossroads of Hollywood and the world of comics, writes: “to my mind, The Metabarons is the greatest work of graphic fiction ever produced.”


AnnonceMB-US-1_462x462
Tags : Humanoids

Humanoids comes to The Lakes International Comic Art Festival!

Friday, October 17, 2014

Humanoids is coming to The Lakes Festival!

Award-winning French artist of the anthropomorphic noir District 14 and The Fantastic Voyage of Lady Rozenbilt, Romuald Reutimann, will be making his first UK convention appearance. He will be signing and sketching throughout the weekend at the Humanoids stand (#46, First Floor, Comic Clock Tower) and will be taking part in the live drawing event, In A World Of Their Own, along with Jeff Smith (Bone, RASL) on Sunday 19 October at 16:00.

Tim Pilcher (Humanoids UK Liaison), will be presenting the following panel: Mœbius and More: 40 years of The Humanoids, on Saturday 18 October at 13:45, to celebrate the company’s 40th anniversary.

There will be an opportunity for old and new fans alike to pick up all the very latest releases, including: Before the Incal by Jodorowsky & Zoran Janjetov, Kelly Sue DeConnick’s new adaptation of Jean-Claude Forest’s Barbarella and Igor Baranko’s impressive Shamanism.

Sales are a big part of any convention and we will be offering the following deal all weekend: Buy any book; get a second one half price.* Plus, a chance to win an out of print, limited, slipcase edition of Alexandro Jodorowsky, Jose Ladrönn & Mœbius’s Final Incal, signed by Jodorowsky himself!

More information can be found ath the following link:

http://www.comicartfestival.com/2014/04/humanoids/

Fantastic-BG_1_original_462x462

*A 50% deduction will be made on the lowest value item.

Tags : Jodorowsky

Releases for 10/22/14

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Greetings fellow humanoids. Shamanism and Son of the Gun are avaiable one week from today (10/22/14) wherever Humanoids titles are sold (As well as our own store).


Check out pictures of all the releases below.

Son-of-the-Gun-Promo-1_1_462x462
Son-of-the-Gun-Promo-2_1_462x462
Shamanism-Promo-1_462x462
Shamanism-Promo-2_462x462

Shamanism - A Dance with no color

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Color is something that affects art in a variety of ways. With or without color, a careful decision is made on the presentation of the picture.

Igor Baranko may have written and drawn Shamanism, however Vyacheslav Xenofontov is the colorist who helped bring Shamanism to life with the addition of color. This begs the question, "what if the book had no color?" Much like the story of Shamanism deals with changing history, what if Xenofontov's colors were never used? Below are several pages presented before they were colored.

01-Danse-du-temps-T2_462x462
02-Danse-du-temps-T2_462x462
03-Danse-du-temps-T2_462x462
04-Danse-du-temps-T2_462x462
05-Danse-du-temps-T2_462x462
06-Danse-du-temps-T2_462x462

Spotlight: Shamanism - October 22, 2014

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Shamanism

Story and art by Igor Baranko

Thanks to the North American tribe, the Paiutes, time has been danced backwards and history has been changed. In the world of the “Second Attempt,” the greedy pale-skinned European “demons” never invaded. But one day, a young Lakota warrior named Four-Winds begs the Paiutes to once again change the course of history, to prevent the death of the Pawnee princess he loves. The Paiutes accept, but this temporal upheaval will not be without cosmic repercussions.


Quicks facts about Shamanism:

• From award-winning Ukrainian author Igor Baranko, creator of the ground-breaking, and critically acclaimed, surrealist science- fiction graphic novel, Jihad.

• Features an afterword by Claude Dordis, an expert in North American Indian cultures and civilizations.

• Ideal for fans of The White Lama, Paulo Coelho and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, alternative histories, The Last of the Mohicans and Native American culture in general.

• A fascinating story featuring the discovery of Europe by the Native Americans.

Shaminism-lite-22_462x462

Shaminism-lite-23_462x462

Shaminism-lite-29_462x462

Shaminism-lite-32_462x462

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Shamanism. Click the picture to choose your resolution.

Shamanism

Shamanism arrives in stores October 22, 2014 with a MSRP of $24.95

Tags : Spotlight

Metal Hurlant Countdown - Issue #135

Monday, October 6, 2014

Continuing our ultimate countdown of our favorite covers from Metal Hurlant's illustrious history. The Zombies That Ate the World takes center stage here, featuring a cover from series artist, Guy Davis.

02-Metal-Hurlant-135-Guy-Davis_462x462

Date: June 2002 (Issue 135)

Cover Artist: Guy Davis

Stories included:

Cold, Hard Facts - R. A. Jones and Matt Cossin

The Zombies That Ate The World: Chapter #1: A Domestic Drama In A Suburban Hell - Jerry Frissen, Guy Davis, and Charlie Kirchoff

Dragon Of The Northern Pass - Dan Wickline, Scott Benefiel, Jasen Rodriguez, and Charlie Kirchoff

Fragile - Stefano Raffaele and Dave Stewart

4 Fucking Garbage Bags - Christian De Metter

Megalex - Alejandro Jodorowsky and Fred Beltran

Metal Hurlant Countdown - Issue #136

Friday, October 3, 2014

Continuing our ultimate countdown of our favorite covers from Metal Hurlant's illustrious history, Gérald Parel is the featured cover artist on this issue.

02-Metal-Hurlant-136_462x462

Date: November 2002 (Issue 136)

Cover Artist: Gérald Parel

Stories included:

MPD: Coming Of Age - Jim Alexander, Pascal Alixe, and Dan Brown

Day Off: The Beach - Pierre Wazem

Eucharist Sun - Alejandro Jodorowsky, Jim H. Williams III, and Dave Stewart

Megalex - Alejandro Jodorowsky and Fred Beltran

Spotlight: Son of the Gun - October 22, 2014

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Son of the Gun

Story by Alexandro Jodorowsky, art by Georges Bess

When an abandoned baby, sporting a tail, is rescued from a South American rubbish bin by a dwarf transvestite prostitute, you know you’re reading a story that only the mad genius of Alexandro Jodorowsky ("The Incal," "The Metbarons") could conceive! The child grows up to become Juan Solo, a vicious gangster and political enforcer, whose savagery sees him quickly rise through the ranks. Until his past catches up to him…


Quicks facts about Son of the Gun:

• Ground-breaking writer (Final Incal, The Metabarons, The White Lama) and cult director (El Topo, Santa Sangre, The Dance of Reality) Alexandro Jodorowsky defies definition once more.

• Afterword by award-winning science-fiction and crime novelist Claude Ecken (Le Diable au Port).

• The first volume won the Alph-art prize for best script at Angoulême’s legendary comic book festival in 1996.

Georges Bess published his first comic books under the pen names Tideli and Nisseman.

Son-of-the-Gun-lite-12_462x462

Son-of-the-Gun-lite-16_462x462

Son-of-the-Gun-lite-18_462x462

Son-of-the-Gun-lite-20_462x462

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Son of the Gun. Click the picture to choose your resolution.

Sonofthegun

Son of the Gun arrives in stores October 22, 2014 with an MSRP of $34.95

Tags : Spotlight

Share