Store

List of posts

Dengue: A look behind the fever

Friday, July 24, 2015

It's often said that science-fiction is merely a reflection of our current society, a filter to examine current concerns and issues. That being the case, Rodolfo Santullo and Matías Bergara's Dengue couldn't be more relevant today. With climate change creating ever more extreme weather across the globe, it's almost inevitable that storytellers have started exploring this subject. But Santullo and Bergara's approach is far more subtle and sophisticated than the typical eco-disaster movies of 2012 or The Day After Tomorrow. Instead they looked at the more pragmatic results of an increasingly warming Montevideo, their home city—namely the increased risk of disease.

Dengue-US_AD_TP-5_defaultbody

While other recent outbreaks, like the headline-grabbing Ebola in Africa in 2014/2015, attract more attention, dengue, or "bonebreaker fever," still manages to hospitalize around half a million people every year. While not nearly as fatal as Ebola (only 2.5% of all victims die) there is similarly no known cure and infection rates are growing. Once only found in the tropics, in recent years there have been dengue outbreaks in Florida and Portugal, thanks to rising temperatures, increased rainfall, and rapid unplanned urbanization. The interesting element of dengue is that contracting it once doesn't necessarily provide immunity. It's possible to contract other strains, which can make symptoms even worse and it's this starting point that forms the crux of Santullo's story.

Dengue-US_AD_TP-35_defaultbody

Into this tense environment Santullo and Bergara introduce us to a sarcastic, jaded yet indefatigable cop, Sergeant Pronzini, and an ambitious TV journalist, Valeria Bonilla, as they try and resolve not only the mystery of thrice-infected dengue victims, but also the apparent conspiracy that keeps the city fearfully locked indoors, away from the epidemic. This original combination of police procedural, political conspiracy thriller, and science-fiction adventure mellifluously blend into a unique, and humorous, tale that rattles along at a pace. No wonder Spider-Man/Deadpool writer Joe Kelly calls it "a cool book" and screenwriter of AI: Artificial Intelligence, Ian Watson, agrees that it's "a powerful and deadly cocktail!"


Creators, Santullo and Bergara are part of the new wave of South American comic creators, such as Eduardo Risso, Gabrial Ba, and Fabio Moon, who are making big waves outside of their continent. Mexican-born Uruguayan writer, Santullo is a prose novelist, journalist, and the author of over 12 graphic novels, including two earlier black and white, historical books, illustrated by Bergara; The Last Days of The Graf Spee (2008) and Act of War (2010). The former graphic novel won the pair the First Prize in 2009's prestigious JC Onetti literary awards. Bergara has gone on to work on several major US comics, illustrating Sons of Anarchy for Boom! Studios, as well as stints on Scott Snyder and Stephen King's American Vampire.

Dengue-US_AD_TP-44_defaultbody


But it's Dengue, the creative duo's first English language translation, that sees them really spreading their mosquito-like wings—telling a sophisticated, multi-layered tale full of fear, hope, and laughs against seemingly insurmountable odds. Fortunately in the real world, progress is being made with pest control trials in Brazil in 2013 appearing to suppress dengue-carrying Aedes aegypti or yellow fever mosquito by 96%. The battle between man and mosquito goes on. Whether we'll ever be able to live in harmony will have to be seen… bzzz…bzzzz… *smack*

Tags : Across the Pond

Releases for July 29, 2015

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

Next week sees the releases of The Last Ones and Dengue. Both are available for purchase wherever Humanoids titles are carried.

Check out pictures below.

Last-Ones-1_defaultbody
Last-Ones-2_defaultbody
Dengue-1_defaultbody
Dengue-2_1_defaultbody
Tags : Promo

The Art of The Last Ones

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Next Wednesday sees the release of The Last Ones. Enjoy some behind the scenes looks at some of the art behind the book as well as early cover concepts from Manuel Garcia.

VampiresP1_defaultbody
VampiresP2-3_defaultbody
VampiresP4-5_defaultbody
VampiresP6-7_defaultbody
VampiresP8_defaultbody

The Last Ones comes to town July 29, 2015.

Tags : Humanoids

Spotlight: Dengue

Monday, July 13, 2015

Dengue

Story by David Muñoz, Art by Manuel Garcia

In the not too distant future, thanks to global warming, Montevideo, Uruguay, is a city under siege from swarms of mosquitoes and the deadly dengue fever they carry. As the diseased bodies pile up in the streets pragmatic Police Sergeant Pronzini must solve the murder of an esteemed entomologist in order to unlock the true secret of a specific type of dengue infection that may just change the face of humanity forever.

Dengue is a dry and sardonic sci-fi thriller dealing with the ultimate consequences of climate change.


Quick facts about Dengue:

Rodolfo Santullo is a Mexican-born Uruguayan writer, journalist, comic book writer and editor. He won the Best Writer in the Solano López Prize for his graphic novel Cena con Amigos. He is also the author of several prose novels.
• Uruguayan artist Matias Bergara has worked extensively with Santullo on numerous graphic novels, as well as on US titles such as Sons of Anarchy (Boom! Studios) and American Vampire (Vertigo).
• Ideal for fans of Fabio Moon and Gabrial Ba's Daytripper (Vertigo/DC Comics), the work of Sam Kieth, and the exciting new wave of South American comics.
• Topically prescient with the recent Ebola outbreak in Africa.

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Dengue. Click the picture to choose your resolution

Dengue arrives in stores July 29, 2015 with an MSRP of $19.95/£13.99

Tags : Spotlight

Spotlight: The Last Ones

Friday, July 3, 2015

The Last Ones

Story by David Muñoz, Art by Manuel Garcia

A cataclysm has transformed the Earth's atmosphere, blocking out all ultraviolet light, plunging it into a new ice age, and giving vampires free reign across the planet. With the human race threatened with extinction, two adults and a handful of children struggle to survive, hidden in the rubble of a ravaged Spanish city. Led by a mysterious savior who joins them, they embark on one last, desperate gamble to cross Europe in search of refuge, to where the last of humanity is gathered...

This moving, yet brutal, tale of friendship and survival leaves bite marks on the neck and frostbite on the soul.

Quick facts about The Last Ones:

•Spanish author David Muñoz co-wrote the 2001 film The Devil's Backbone with Guillermo Del Toro. He also wrote the graphic novel Whispers in the Walls, with art by Tirso.
Manuel Garcia is a Spanish comics artist who has worked on numerous US titles including Avengers Assemble and Mystique (Marvel), Robin and Justice League of America (DC Comics), and Star Wars Tales, Skyman, and Captain Midnight (Dark Horse).
•Cover by Michael Lark (DC Comics' Gotham Central, Image's Lazarus).
•Beautiful artwork will appeal to admirers of Peter Snejbjerg and Vertigo comics.
•Ideal for fans of The Road, 30 Days of Night, The Walking Dead, vampire films and survivalist horror in general.

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of The Last Ones. Click the picture to choose your resolution


The Last Ones arrives in stores July 29, 2015 with an MSRP of $24.95/£17.99

Release for 7/1/2015

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Next week sees the releases of Miss: Better Living Through Crime. Philippe Thirault (The Hounds of Hell) sets the stage for you to explore the seedy back-alleys of this intriguing crime story.

Check out pictures below.


Miss-1_defaultbody
Miss-2_defaultbody
Tags : Promo

Spotlight: Miss: Better Living Through Crime

Friday, June 19, 2015

Miss: Better Living Through Crime

Story by Philippe Thirault, Art by Marc Riou and Mark Vigouroux

Set during the "Roaring Twenties" in New York City, Miss tells the tale of two unlikely partners in crime; Nola, a poor white girl who has learned to survive by hook or by crook since being expelled from an orphanage; and Slim, a black pimp with an uncertain past, always trying to keep one foot out of the grave. When their paths cross and their options run out, they forge a partnership as hired killers. This is their story, about what it takes to survive when all you have is a gun, and each other.

Quick facts about Miss: Better Living Through Crime:

Philippe Thirault is a prolific French novelist and comics writer. He has had his comics work published at nearly all the major French publishing houses, including The Hounds of Hell and Thousand Faces at Humanoids, among many others.
Marc Riou and Mark Vigouroux are French artists who met at l'École des Beaux-Arts d'Angoulême. Vigouroux also illustrated Aftermath written
by James Hudnall.
• Perfect for fans of crime comics such as Sin City, Fatale and Darwyn Cooke's adaptations of Richard Stark's Parker novels.
• Shortlisted for the 2000 Angoulême First Comic Book Award.
• Features a foreword from acclaimed author, Ed Brubaker (Criminal, Fatale, The Fade Out).


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Miss: Better Living Through Crime. Click the picture to choose your resolution


Miss: Better Living Through Crime arrives in stores July 1, 2015 with an MSRP of $29.95/£20.99

Tags : Spotlight

Redhand: Behind the Scenes

Tuesday, June 16, 2015

Redhand: Twilight of the Gods arrives in stores tomorrow, June 17, 2015. Today we show off some of Bazal's original pencils for the latter half of the book. As you can see, sometimes even designs of the main character change before the final page is finished.

REDHANDPC1_defaultbody
REDHANDPC2_defaultbody
REDHANDPC3_defaultbody
REDHANDPC4_defaultbody




Share