Store

List of posts

Barbarella - A Look Back

Friday, January 30, 2015

Barbarella returned to bookstores for the first time in nearly two decades in the previously released Coffee Table edition, with a new adaptation by Kelly Sue DeConnick. February sees the release of a standard sized edition that collects the previously released story, as well as the never-before translated "Wrath of the Minute-Eater". This is the perfect opportunity to revisit a franchise that helped make history in the world of comics.


Written and drawn by Jean-Claude Forest, Barbarella was released in 1964, spearheading the sexual revolution in the comics scene. Barbarella's sensual eroticism helped change the image of women in comics forever.

Couv_26554_462x462_defaultbody


The adventures of the Barbarella were adapted for film, in 1968 by Dino De Laurentis and Roger Vadim. The silver screen adaptation starred American actress Jane Fonda, who epitomized the role of the cheeky young space adventuress who dared to explore the cosmos.

Barbarella_462x462_defaultbody
Barbarella2_462x462_defaultbody

Film Synopsis: In the year 4000, Barbarella, a futuristic astronaut from Earth, is called to retrieve Durand Durand, a renowned scientist, from the evil City of Night, Sogo. On her perilous (and quite sexy) journey, she teams with blind angel Pygar, and battles the Black Queen along with various sexual torture devices.

Barbarella6_462x462_defaultbody
Today, Barbarella is an iconic mythical heroine who embodied a new powerful view of women in comics, with new film and TV adaptations currently being discussed, as well as a musical which occurred in 2014.


Barbarella can be seen on Netflix and many other video services as well as purchased from Amazon.


©1968 - Paramount Pictures. All rights reserved. For all the photos and movie posters .

Upcoming releases in 2015

Thursday, January 22, 2015

2015 is already shaping up to be a great year. Below are several upcoming titles that will be launching in the first half of the year.

January


Hardboiled newspaper photographer, Lou Cale, snaps New York's seedy underbelly, while solving the crimes cops can't.

Story & Art by Warn's & Raives


February


Jean-Claude Forest's timeless Erotic Sci-Fi series recounting the spatial adventures of the beautiful titular character is now available in a brand new English-language adaptation. Collects the first two volumes of Barbarella's adventures.

Story & Art by Jean-Claude Forest, Adaptation by Kelly Sue DeConnick


Stunning and intelligent Medieval detective adventure that infuses The Name of The Rose with The X-Files.

Story by Richard D. Nolane, Art by Francois Miville-Deschenes


March


The classic Western tale turned on its ear and populated with strange characters and surreal situations.

Story by Alexandro Jodorowsky, Art by Francois Boucq


In a world whose time is running out, Yama, a young girl, must reunite four mysterious swords to save the planet.

Story by Sylviane Corgiat, Art by Laura Zuccheri


April


A heroic fantasy epic and rite of passage tale set in a mythical pre-glacial Antarctica.

Story by Alain Paris, Art by Val, Saverio Tenuta and Notaro



An action-packed adventure comedy for fans of space opera, zombified prehistoric animals, and insanely violent Belgians with bad dress sense. Concludes The Zombies That Ate the World series.

Story by Jerry Frissen, Art by Jorge Miguel


May


Return to the terrifying secrets that lie deep beneath the ocean in this brand new manga re-imagining of the classic bestseller.

Story by Stephane Betbeder, Art by Riccardo Crosa and Andrea Rossetto




"Ancient legends speak of a man born as an adult, and without a name, fated to bring down the gods..."

Story by Kurt Busiek and Sam Timel, Art by Mario Alberti and Bazal


June


An ecological disaster has turned Earth into a vampires' hunting ground, as a small group of humans struggle to survive in this brutal new landscape.

Story by David Muñoz, Art by Manuel Garcia


Orphaned by lightning. Possessor of an unimaginable strength. Destined for legendary feats. He is the Child of the Storm. Fear the tempest.

Story by Didier Poli, Art by Manuel Bichebois and Guilio Zeloni


Below are several of our best-selling titles that are being reprinted in our standard sized hardcover format between now and June.


Tags : Humanoids

Release for 1/28/2015

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Next week sees the release of Lou Cale. You can purchase this title wherever Humanoids titles are sold (As well as our own store).

Check out pictures of all the releases below.

Lou-Cale-Promo-1_defaultbody


Lou-Cale-Promo-2_defaultbody

Lou Cale: The Scene of the Crime

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Today's blog breaks down several pages from Lou Cale (In stores January 28), offering various steps in the process. We have several inked pages with their final counterparts as well as pages between the coloring process as well as a few random pieces that you may enjoy.


Page-1-Side-By-Side_defaultbody



Page-2-Side-By-Side_defaultbody

Page-3-Side-By-Side_defaultbody

Page-4-Side-By-Side_defaultbody

Combined-BW-Color_defaultbody

Lou-Cale-1_defaultbody
Lou-Cale-2_defaultbody

04-LouCale-trt_T4_defaultbody
23-LouCale-trt_T4_defaultbody

Spotlight: Barbarella and The Wrath of the Minute-Eater

Friday, January 2, 2015

Barbarella and The Wrath of the Minute-Eater

Story & Art by Jean-Claude Forest, Adapted by Kelly Sue DeConnick


Barbarella's traveling Circus Delirium enters another dimension, led by the mysterious and alluring aquaman, Narval, whose machinations catapult Barbarella & Co. into a complex battle for the planet Spectra.


Quick facts about Barbarella and The Wrath of the Minute-Eater:

• English-language adaptation by writer Kelly Sue DeConnick (Marvel's Captain Marvel, Avengers Assemble, Dark Horse's Ghost, Image's Pretty Deadly and recently released Bitch Planet).
• In 1962 Barbarella predicted the sexual revolution as the original “erotic comic book" and the first truly emancipated female comic book character. Now, this long-lost classic is once again available to a brand new generation.
• Includes the original Barbarella graphic novel and its never-before-published-in-the-English-language sequel, The Wrath of the Minute-Eater.
Barbarella has been turned into a cult movie starring Jane Fonda (1968), a musical (2004), and is currently being developed as a TV series.
• Creator Jean Claude-Forest (09/11/1930 – 12/29/1998) was an extremely influential French comics author who was awarded the Angoulême Grand Prix in 1984 (given yearly to a creator for his body of work and for his achievement in the evolution of comics).
• Prefaces by both filmmaker Nicolas Winding Refn (Drive), and comics historian Paul Gravett (1001 Comics You Must Read Before You Die, Comics Art).

Barbarella-Book-2-Diamond-6_defaultbody
Barbarella-Book-2-Diamond-7_defaultbody
Barbarella-Book-2-Diamond-8_defaultbody
Barbarella-Book-2-Diamond-9_defaultbody

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Barbarella and The Wrath of the Minute-Eater. Click the picture to choose your resolution.

Barbarella and The Wrath of the Minute-Eater arrives in stores February 18, 2014 with a MSRP of $34.95/£22.99

Happy New Year from Humanoids!

Thursday, January 1, 2015

NewYear2015-1_defaultbody

Spotlight: Lou Cale

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Lou Cale

Story & Art by Warn's & Raives


1940s' New York. Flashes go off around the city as bodies pile up and local papers battle to feed the public's demand for sensationalism. The one and only Lou Cale is one of these notorious shutterbugs, but Lou also keeps his ear to the ground, often picking up on crime scene details that go unseen by the authorities, and which lead him into his own dogged investigations. From mysterious suicides, scalped corpses and stolen Oriental treasures, to racist hangings and mob assassinations, tough nut Lou fights his way through a bevy of beauties and a whole bunch of crooks, to get to the truth.


Quicks facts about Lou Cale:

Warn's (Éric Warnauts) and Raives (Guy Servais) are prolific European creators who have collaborated for most of their careers, and have had titles published at nearly all of the biggest French graphic novel publishers.
• Includes an interview with co-creator Raives.
• For fans of Noir and Crime comics, such as Gotham Central, and Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips' Criminal.

Lou-Cale-Diamond-6_defaultbody
Lou-Cale-Diamond-7_defaultbody
Lou-Cale-Diamond-8_defaultbody
Lou-Cale-Diamond-10_defaultbody

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Lou Cale. Click the picture to choose your resolution.

Lou Cale arrives in stores January 21, 2015 with a MSRP of $34.95/£22.99

Holiday Gift Guide 2014

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

IMG_0076_defaultbody

Seasons Greetings and happy holidays to all our fans!

December marks an important time of the year where we all get to celebrate family and friends. One tradition that has become a part of many different holidays and cultures is the exchanging of gifts. We're here to offer some suggestions for those graphic novel fans in your life, or for that special someone you would like to introduce to the wonderful world of comics. Below is a mix of recommended Humanoids titles sorted by genre. Click any to be taken to its page. And remember that any book will make a great stocking stuffer!

ACTION & ADVENTURE


FANTASY


CRIME / THRILLER / NOIR


HORROR


SLICE OF LIFE


HUMOR


SCIENCE-FICTION



All titles can be ordered from your local comic shop or from the Humanoids Store, which includes FREE shipping in the US, as well as a free digital version of the title you order.

Happy Holidays!


Share