Store

List of posts

Happy New Year! 2017!

Sunday, January 1, 2017

NewYear2017_defaultbody

-Happy New Year from your friends at Humanoids

Spotlight: The Ring of the Seven Worlds

Friday, December 30, 2016

The Ring of the Seven Worlds
Story by Giovanni Gualdoni and Gabriele Clima & Art by Matteo Piana


Seven planets linked to one another by the multidimensional gates of a giant ring. Only the passage to Nemo, one of the Seven Worlds, has remained sealed for three centuries, in order to confine its people after they savagely attacked the rest of the Empire. When the infamous gate reopens and unleashes the ancient enemy, Timo and Luce, two teenagers from the planet Mose, are caught up in a war they were not prepared to fight.


Quick Facts about The Ring of the Seven Worlds
• Winner of the Carlo Boscarato Award for Best Script with its release in Italian
• From two of the artists behind Star Wars: Original Trilogy Graphic Novel, Matteo Piana (Layout and cleanup, Ink) Davide Turotti (Paint)
• Appeals to fans of Hayao Miyazaki
• Hardcover release was one of Paul Gravett's Books to Read: Best Graphic Novels


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of The Ring of the Seven Worlds. Click the picture to choose your resolution


The Ring of the Seven Worlds arrives in stores January 24, 2017 with an MSRP of $24.95/£17.99

Tags: Spotlight

Spotlight: The Fourth Power

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

The Fourth Power
Story & Art by Juan Gimenez


The odyssey of Exether Mega, a young military pilot caught up in an interplanetary conflict between humans — under the banner of the Planetary United States — and the Krommiums. After narrowly escaping an attack by an enemy patrol, Mega begins a perilous journey across enemy lines. Through a series of encounters —with both friends and foes — Mega discovers she's at the center of a complex, secret experiment to create the ultimate weapon of war. As further clues to her role, identity, and destiny are revealed to her, the powers that be ramp up their efforts to capture her. A spectacular and riveting space opera by the creator of Leo Roa and the illustrator of The Metabarons saga.


Quick Facts about The Fourth Power:
• Renowned Argentinian artist, Juan Gimenez, known for The Metabarons and his work in Heavy Metal magazine, so popular it spurred an art book, Overload.
• Designed the "Harry Canyon" segment in the cult-classic Heavy Metal film.
• Known for his extreme attention to technical and historical details in his works.
• The complete series in one book, only the first 2 volumes (of 4) have released in English.


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of The Fourth Power. Click the picture to choose your resolution


The Fourth Power arrives in stores January 24, 2017 with an MSRP of $39.95/£29.99

Tags: Spotlight

Advent Calendar Feedback

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

CONTEST: "Paint" By The Numbers

Thursday, December 1, 2016

PAINT-BY-THE-NUMBERS-CONTEST1_defaultbody

Who doesn't love "paint by number"? And then there is that adult coloring book phenomenon. Clearly the world just wants to color, and who are we to deny you the opportunity to color classic Ligne Claire work like what you would find from the creator of Tintin and the artist of the biography of the creator of Tintin (that's Hergé (Tintin) and Stanislas (Adventures of Hergé, By the Numbers) on Hergé if you got lost there).  

So, in celebration of the release of By the Numbers, we give you these panels to show off your "paint" skills.  Are you a colorist and want to show off your chops?  Go for it!  Do you want to print these out and use crayons to color it old-school?  Just do it!  Show us how you see the colors in the world of By The Numbers.

And if you're feeling especially creative, the bubbles have been left empty so that you can add in your own dialogue - or leave them blank, because sometimes silence speaks volumes.  

Coloring is a stress-reliever and just fun to do, but if you're feeling competitive, why not enter your coloring into a competition. Winners (we're terrible at picking just one) will receive a copy of By The Numbers. Contest is open to the US and UK and ends December 31st, 2016. Enter by using #paintbythenumbers on social media (remember to make it public!) or e-mail your work to contest@humanoids.com.


You can use any (and all!) of the panels below:


Paint-By-the-Numbers-3_defaultbody
Paint-By-the-Numbers-2_defaultbody
Paint-By-the-Numbers-4_defaultbody
Paint-By-the-Numbers-5_defaultbody

Bonus...  who are these familiar characters?!


Paint-By-the-Numbers-6-Tintin_defaultbody

Have fun!

Spotlight: Weapons of the Metabaron

Monday, November 28, 2016

Weapons of the Metabaron
Story by Alejandro Jodorowsky, Art by Travis Charest and Zoran Janjetov


The creative trio of Jodorowsky, Charest, and Janjetov shows us how the Metabaron assembled the galaxy's most powerful and destructive weapons in an effort to secure his position as the universe's ultimate warrior. Travis Charest's (Artist of Wildcats, WildC.A.T.s/X-Men: The Golden Age, and Star Wars comics Cover Artist) interpretation of 'The Metabarons' mythology.


Quick Facts about Weapons of the Metabaron:
The Metabarons series have sold more than 1.5M copies worldwide!
• Written by NY Times Bestselling author Alejandro Jodorowsky!
• The franchise was featured in the acclaimed documentary Jodorowsky's Dune, one of Entertainment Weekly's top ten films of 2014.


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Weapons of the Metabaron. Click the picture to choose your resolution


Weapons of the Metabaron arrives in stores December 6, 2016 with an MSRP of $19.95/£14.99

Tags: Spotlight

Spotlight: By The Numbers

Friday, November 25, 2016

By The Numbers
Story by Laurent Rullier, Art by Stanislas

The accidental adventures of Victor Levallois, a timid accountant that gets pulled into a life of danger. It all started in 1948 when Victor was entrusted with an unusual errand: deliver a suitcase to the port of Marseilles. But, when the suitcase is stolen, Victor finds himself bound for Saigon and the decadence, intrigue and adventure of a colonial war!


Quick Facts about By The Numbers:
• Artist Stanislas is known for a similar style to Tintin creator Hergé and even illustrated the biographical comic about him: The Adventures of Hergé (Drawn & Quarterly).
• Author Laurent Rullier is a historian by training, the story may be fictional, but the world is based in fact.
• Perfect for fans of Freddy Lombard and Rainbow Orchid.


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of By The Numbers. Click the picture to choose your resolution


By The Numbers new color edition arrives in stores December 6, 2016 with an MSRP of $24.95/£17.99

Tags: Spotlight

Milo Manara: Pandora's Eyes (Part 3 of 3)

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Milo Manara (Part 3)

Milo Manara is renowned as an auteur, writing and drawing the vast majority of his work, however he has collaborated with many other equally important writers and filmmakers over the decades including Spanish film director, Pedro Almodóvar on 1993's La Feu aux Entrailles (Fire in the Belly).

Manara's first graphic novel as an artist and writer was HP and Giuseppe Bergman, published in 1983. "HP" is Manara's friend, collaborator, and fellow Italian artist/writer legend, the late Hugo Pratt. Bergman had been created by Manara five years earlier (in 1978), for the French comics magazine A Suivre. The series became known for its combination of experimental narrative and explicit sex, and has been collected into six books thus far. Pratt and Manara went on to create another two books, Indian Summer and El Gaucho.


Fdshajkflsd_defaultbody

Manara also worked with celebrated film director Federico Fellini (La Dolce Vita and ) on their graphic novel Trip to Tulum. Based on Fellini's unmade film script, the story is a tale of hallucinatory magic-realism. The pair went on to create The Voyage of G. Mastorna in 1992, which was only translated into English 20 years later.


Other notable collaborations included Alejandro Jodorowsky on The Borgias, Pierre Louys's Aphrodite, and Silverio Pisu's The Ape, a ribald adaptation of the classic Chinese text, Journey to the West.


It was a collaboration that won Manara his only Eisner award, in 2004, when he illustrated a chapter of Neil Gaiman's feted anthology, The Sandman: Endless Nights. This was Manara's second partnership with Gaiman, having previously illustrated a story about the Berlin Wall collapsing in 1990's anthology, Breakthrough. He worked on another American graphic novel, X-Women (2009), written by Chris Claremont, which proved that Manara remains as controversial as ever, inserting erotic subtexts into Marvel's superheroes, causing chagrin among certain fans. This recently caused a stir with his Spider-Woman cover.


Pandora-hrrdsfjksa_defaultbody

That same year Manara worked with Oscar-nominated Italian screenwriter Vincenzo Cerami (Life is Beautiful) on Pandora's Eyes, proving the artist was as confident a collaborator as ever, and this shows in the way he follows the writer's direction, while adding his own unique flair. Cerami's script is less erotic and more thriller-based tale, and this updated edition is coloured for the first time by fellow Italian creator Francesco Gaston, creating a sombre, muted palate that matches the story perfectly.


Whether collaborating with others, or pursing his own artistic vision, Manara has always brought a unique sensibility to his work, a vision that ensures he will forever remain in the pantheon of the world's greatest comics creators.

--Tim Pilcher

This concludes our three-part series on Milo Manara. Previous parts can be read by clicking:
Part One - Gullivera
Part Two - The Golden ass

The new color edition of Pandora's Eyes is available in stores on November 23, 2016.

Tags: Across the Pond