Store

List of posts

Spotlight: Weapons of the Metabaron

Monday, November 28, 2016

Weapons of the Metabaron
Story by Alejandro Jodorowsky, Art by Travis Charest and Zoran Janjetov


The creative trio of Jodorowsky, Charest, and Janjetov shows us how the Metabaron assembled the galaxy's most powerful and destructive weapons in an effort to secure his position as the universe's ultimate warrior. Travis Charest's (Artist of Wildcats, WildC.A.T.s/X-Men: The Golden Age, and Star Wars comics Cover Artist) interpretation of 'The Metabarons' mythology.


Quick Facts about Weapons of the Metabaron:
The Metabarons series have sold more than 1.5M copies worldwide!
• Written by NY Times Bestselling author Alejandro Jodorowsky!
• The franchise was featured in the acclaimed documentary Jodorowsky's Dune, one of Entertainment Weekly's top ten films of 2014.


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Weapons of the Metabaron. Click the picture to choose your resolution


Weapons of the Metabaron arrives in stores December 6, 2016 with an MSRP of $19.95/£14.99

Tags: Spotlight

Spotlight: By The Numbers

Friday, November 25, 2016

By The Numbers
Story by Laurent Rullier, Art by Stanislas

The accidental adventures of Victor Levallois, a timid accountant that gets pulled into a life of danger. It all started in 1948 when Victor was entrusted with an unusual errand: deliver a suitcase to the port of Marseilles. But, when the suitcase is stolen, Victor finds himself bound for Saigon and the decadence, intrigue and adventure of a colonial war!


Quick Facts about By The Numbers:
• Artist Stanislas is known for a similar style to Tintin creator Hergé and even illustrated the biographical comic about him: The Adventures of Hergé (Drawn & Quarterly).
• Author Laurent Rullier is a historian by training, the story may be fictional, but the world is based in fact.
• Perfect for fans of Freddy Lombard and Rainbow Orchid.


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of By The Numbers. Click the picture to choose your resolution


By The Numbers new color edition arrives in stores December 6, 2016 with an MSRP of $24.95/£17.99

Tags: Spotlight

Milo Manara: Pandora's Eyes (Part 3 of 3)

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Milo Manara (Part 3)

Milo Manara is renowned as an auteur, writing and drawing the vast majority of his work, however he has collaborated with many other equally important writers and filmmakers over the decades including Spanish film director, Pedro Almodóvar on 1993's La Feu aux Entrailles (Fire in the Belly).

Manara's first graphic novel as an artist and writer was HP and Giuseppe Bergman, published in 1983. "HP" is Manara's friend, collaborator, and fellow Italian artist/writer legend, the late Hugo Pratt. Bergman had been created by Manara five years earlier (in 1978), for the French comics magazine A Suivre. The series became known for its combination of experimental narrative and explicit sex, and has been collected into six books thus far. Pratt and Manara went on to create another two books, Indian Summer and El Gaucho.


Fdshajkflsd_defaultbody

Manara also worked with celebrated film director Federico Fellini (La Dolce Vita and ) on their graphic novel Trip to Tulum. Based on Fellini's unmade film script, the story is a tale of hallucinatory magic-realism. The pair went on to create The Voyage of G. Mastorna in 1992, which was only translated into English 20 years later.


Other notable collaborations included Alejandro Jodorowsky on The Borgias, Pierre Louys's Aphrodite, and Silverio Pisu's The Ape, a ribald adaptation of the classic Chinese text, Journey to the West.


It was a collaboration that won Manara his only Eisner award, in 2004, when he illustrated a chapter of Neil Gaiman's feted anthology, The Sandman: Endless Nights. This was Manara's second partnership with Gaiman, having previously illustrated a story about the Berlin Wall collapsing in 1990's anthology, Breakthrough. He worked on another American graphic novel, X-Women (2009), written by Chris Claremont, which proved that Manara remains as controversial as ever, inserting erotic subtexts into Marvel's superheroes, causing chagrin among certain fans. This recently caused a stir with his Spider-Woman cover.


Pandora-hrrdsfjksa_defaultbody

That same year Manara worked with Oscar-nominated Italian screenwriter Vincenzo Cerami (Life is Beautiful) on Pandora's Eyes, proving the artist was as confident a collaborator as ever, and this shows in the way he follows the writer's direction, while adding his own unique flair. Cerami's script is less erotic and more thriller-based tale, and this updated edition is coloured for the first time by fellow Italian creator Francesco Gaston, creating a sombre, muted palate that matches the story perfectly.


Whether collaborating with others, or pursing his own artistic vision, Manara has always brought a unique sensibility to his work, a vision that ensures he will forever remain in the pantheon of the world's greatest comics creators.

--Tim Pilcher

This concludes our three-part series on Milo Manara. Previous parts can be read by clicking:
Part One - Gullivera
Part Two - The Golden ass

The new color edition of Pandora's Eyes is available in stores on November 23, 2016.

Tags: Across the Pond

Spotlight: Pandora's Eyes (Color Edition)

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Pandora's Eyes (New Color Edition)
Story by Vincenzo Cerami, Art by Milo Manara, colors byFrancesco Gaston


Pandora is a beautiful young woman living with her adoptive parents in a major European city. Out of the blue, she learns that her real father might be a terrible mob boss wanted by the international authorities. When she is kidnapped and taken to Turkey, she is forced to confront her dangerous past and investigate the motives of the people closest to her. Vincenzo Cerami, a screenwriter (Roberto Benigni's international hit "Life is Beautiful"), collaborates here with one of Europe's greatest artists, Milo Manara.


Quick Facts about Pandora's Eyes:
• Available in color for the first time!
• Co-written by the one of the screenwriters of the Oscar-winning film Life is Beautiful.
Milo Manara is a world renowned and multi-award winning Italian comics creator who has worked with Hugo Pratt and film director Federico Fellini.
• Occasionally controversial Manara has illustrated The Sandman: Endless Nights for Vertigo and X-Women and numerous covers for Marvel.
• The artist of over 50 graphic novels has won Eisner and Harvey Awards, has been inducted into the Jack Kirby Hall of Fame and had his work adapted into several films.

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Pandora's Eyes. Click the picture to choose your resolution


Pandora's Eyes new color edition arrives in stores November 22, 2016 with an MSRP of $24.95/£17.99

Tags: Spotlight

Spotlight: Elias the Cursed (2016 Softcover Edition)

Monday, November 7, 2016

Elias the Cursed
Story by Sylviane Corgiat, Art by Corrado Mastantuono


Fallen king Elias is on a quest to reclaim the face that was stolen from him by the mighty sorcerer Melchior. With the help of an unlikely gang, of all fantastical shapes and sizes, and amidst magic both good and evil, Elias The Cursed will attempt to save his face, and perhaps his soul.


Quick Facts about Elias the Cursed:
Sylviane Corgiat is a prolific French writer who won the Grand Prix du Livre Jeunesse for her YA novel, The Memory Traffickers and has written for the long-running (18 years) French crime TV series, Navarro.
Corrado Mastantuono has received numerous European awards for his work including the Albertarelli, Yellow Kid, Grand Guinigi and several Premio Fumo di China awards.
• Appeals to fans of Conan the Barbarian


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of Elias the Cursed. Click the picture to choose your resolution


Elias the Cursed's new softcover edition arrives in stores November 15, 2016 with an MSRP of $19.95

Tags: Spotlight