Store
Zombies-That-Ate-The-World-logo_1_worklogo
Zombies-That-Ate-The-World-BG_workbig

A zombie spoof featuring a group of friends on their journey to start a little business of their own…zombie catchers!

Writer : Jerry Frissen
Art : Guy Davis, Jorge Miguel
Colorist : Charlie Kirchoff

humor
publication in 3 volumes
completed series

Los Angeles, 2064. In a world where humans have to live along the living dead, a new job opportunity arises: zombie catcher. Karl Neard, his sister Maggie, and his Belgian friend Freddy Merckx, all embrace this "career" in the hope of making easy money. Unfortunately, the job is not that simple: not only are the "dead" still walking, but they also have a terrible stench and an awful sense of humor. As a matter of fact, zombies just don't care about anything as their lives are behind them and they now have an eternity to enjoy what is left of the world. Karl and his team will quickly find this fact out as they end up surrounded by all sorts of ghoulish freaks.

5 posts
2 wallpapers

List of editions

On the blog

Support the ACLU!

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

ACLU-BANNER-1-A_1_defaultbody

At HUMANOIDS we want to support ACLU by giving 100% of the profits from the following four books during the month of February.

So if you want to take a stand against ignorance, show your support for ACLU by Buying A Book!  It's that simple!  The titles are:


A genre-bending work of political science fiction, where the rulers of the future are haunted by the ghosts of the past… Written and illustrated in stunning color by Ukrainian green-card lottery winning creator Igor Baranko.


The travel diary of French two brothers in a land at war. Based on the siblings' real life experiences in war-torn Lebanon.


A unique and addictive anthropomorphic mystery with an intricate plot and an immigrant hero, rendered in stark black-and-white. Winner of best series at the Angoulême International Comics Festival in 2012.




According to Tobe Hooper "It's disgusting, fun and politically right on target!" A book full of alt-right nuts and rednecks who are way more dangerous that the peaceful living-impaired (just don't call them zombies!).

Interview: Jorge Miguel on The Z Word

Monday, August 24, 2015

With the upcoming release of The Z Word shuffling into stores, we wanted to speak with some of the team behind the book (also known as The Zombies That Ate the World). Today we speak with Jorge Miguel, one of the series' artists. This interview was conducted by Jo Witherington (Marketing & Social Media Director for Humanoids).


ZWord-facebook_defaultbody

How did you get your start in comics?


I used to draw historical illustrations for books and magazines. I also worked on many storyboards in the TV advertising industry. One day I decided to combine the two activities and I published a historical comic book about a 26th century Portuguese poet. Eventually a French writer friend of mine proposed that I send a project to Humanoids, and here I am today.


What was working with Jerry Frissen on The Z Word like?


Jerry is very pleasant to work with. He gave me a lot of leeway that allowed me to add a little of my own flavor to the final volume. I really appreciate his sense of humor. It looks and sounds disgusting but keeps us asking for more.


Zombies-That-Ate-the-World-Book-3-21_defaultbody

Do you enjoy the Zombie genre?


I learned to love it. When I began working on this project, I told Jerry that I knew very little of the Zombie genre and I asked him for a list of movies that I could view to familiarize myself with the world of Zombies. It's a world that I would like to visit as a tourist but I wouldn't want to live there.


How would you describe your artistic process?


I start by visualizing the whole story in my head. Then I doodle thumbnails that only I can decipher. Next, I fill the pages with roughs that look pretty much like a classic storyboard, keeping space for the text. No real details at that point. I don't like to get too elaborate with my pencils as I improvise a lot when I ink. In a script like The Z Word, you can add a lot of weird and disgusting stuff and it still looks good in the context of the story.


What was your favorite part of working on The Z Word?


It's fiction, so we can create a lot of interesting ideas. That's what I like to do. Jerry's script is very extreme, so I try to keep that that in mind when I draw the story.


Zombies-That-Ate-the-World-Book-3-29_defaultbody

If you could draw any Humanoids story, what would it be?


The next Freddy, Karl, and Maggie adventures, of course. A Basil & Victoria story would be another good choice. I find the Victorian-era atmosphere very inspiring.

How would you survive the Zombie Apocalypse?


I'd probably go to Belgium. It's seems like they deal with the problem very well.

What advice would you give aspiring artists today?


Read the classics from the masters! I've learned a lot reading many titles from Alex Raymond, José Salinas, Jesus Blasco, Stan Drake and more. They are essential artists especially for young artists.


Thanks to Jorge Miguel for spending time answering some questions. The Z Word will be available September 2, 2015 on our store and wherever Humanoids titles are carried.

Spotlight: The Z Word

Friday, August 14, 2015

The Z Word

Story by Jerry Frissen, Art by Guy Davis and Jorge Miguel

Los Angeles, 2060s. In a world where humans have to coexist alongside the living dead, a new work opportunity arises: zombie pest control.


Karl, his sister Maggie, and their Belgian friend Freddy Merckx, embrace this "career choice" in the hope of making some easy money. Not to mention enjoying the perks of the job, whether it's bashing zombies or...er...sleeping with them. Unfortunately for our trio, the job isn't that simple: not only are the dead still walking, but they stink, have a terrible sense of humor and some very ambitious plans for world domination.


Quick facts about The Z Word:

Jerry Frissen is the Eisner-nominated creator of the LUCHA LIBRE universe (Unfabulous Five, The Tikitis), internationally published to great acclaim in the pages of both Image and Humanoids' books. His alien-invasion series World War X, with artist Peter Snejbjerg, is currently being released by Titan Comics.
Guy Davis is an American comics creator and artist of Sandman Mystery Theatre (Vertigo), B.P.R.D. and The Marquis (Dark Horse) and is a concept artist on many of Guillermo de Toro's films, including Pacific Rim and Crimson Peak.
Jorge Miguel is a Portuguese comics artist who has also worked in animation and publicity, and for whom this is his first published comics work in the English language.
• Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead, anything zombie-related, and horror comedies.
• Omnibus edition collects all 6 volumes of the series previously published as The Zombies That Ate The World, as well as an all-new afterword.


Available below is the desktop wallpaper of The Z Word. Click the picture to choose your resolution


The Z Word arrives in stores September 2015 with an MSRP of $39.95/£24.99


Laughing with the Undead

Friday, April 24, 2015

The two things you can always count on in life: Death and Taxes. While we will always pay taxes, sometimes death isn't always the end. Back in 1968 there was very little undead-related pop culture until George A. Romero popularized zombies in Night of the Living Dead. Fast forward to today and The Walking Dead is one of the most popular television shows, Shaun of the Dead is one of the most beloved "Rom Zom Coms," plus there's a host of video games, comics, movies — and more TV shows, like iZombie — along with over 25 follow-ups and spin-offs from Romero's original film.


Zombies-That-Ate-the-World-Book-3-13_defaultbody

We handle death usually in one of two ways: horror, as Night of the Living Dead embodied, and comedy. The Zombies That Ate the World takes the latter route, portraying a world where zombies are quite the norm. Blending classic horror elements wrapped up in the guise of comedy allows unique stories to be told, and even more interesting characters to shine. Karl Neard isn't your typical hero. Often dorky, clumsy, and even scared, Karl is a "zombie pest controller" who sets up shop to round-up annoying zombies that until recently, were perfectly calm members of the undead society.


Zombies-That-Ate-the-World-Book-3-14_defaultbody


Book 1: Bring Me Back My Head introduced us to Karl, his sister Maggie, and their friend Freddy, as they set up their "zombie catcher" services. Jerry Frissen does a bang up job creating a world based on a familiar premise, but turned on its head. Much like he did with the Lucha Libre series, The Zombies That Ate the World blends fantastical elements with the mundane, making readers laugh at things they otherwise normally wouldn't, or probably shouldn't.


Zombies-That-Ate-the-World-Book-3-20_defaultbody

The Zombies that Ate the World: Book 3: Houston, We Have a Problem shuffles into stores on April 29, 2015. This volume concludes the hysterically horrific series created by Jerry Frissen. And while this may be finale of the series, can anything undead ever truly be "the end"?

Spotlight: The Zombies That Ate the World: Book 3: Houston, We Have a Problem

Friday, March 27, 2015

The Zombies That Ate the World: Book 3: Houston, We Have a Problem
Story by Jerry Frissen, with Art by Jorge Miguel


Everything has gone to hell on Earth in 2069. Not only have the dead risen, but they're now robbing humans to finance their exodus to the moon…
Fortunately, a bastion of humanity stands in their way, Freddy Merckx. Like a particularly good dark chocolate he's rich, strong, ugly, rude, and last, but definitely not least, Belgian!

An action-packed adventure comedy for fans of space opera, zombified prehistoric animals, and insanely violent Belgians with bad dress sense.

Concludes the series created by Jerry Frissen and Guy Davis (B.P.R.D., The Marquis: Inferno) - with newcomer Jorge Miguel taking over the art reins in this last volume - which continues to pay homage to the zombie genre, all the while giving us more of its special brand of hilarious black comedy.


Quick facts about The Zombies That Ate the World: Book 3: Houston, We Have a Problem:

Jerry Frissen is the Eisner-nominated creator of the Lucha Libre universe (Unfabulous Five, The Tikitis), internationally published to great acclaim in the pages of both Image and Humanoids' books. Frissen is currently working on Metabaron (Available in 2016).
Jorge Miguel is a Portuguese comics artist who has also worked in animation and publicity, and for whom The Zombies That Ate The World is his first published comics work in the English language.
• Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead, In the Flesh, anything zombie-related, and horror comedies.

Available below is the desktop wallpaper of The Zombies That Ate the World: Book 3: Houston, We Have a Problem. Click the picture to choose your resolution


The Zombies That Ate the World: Book 3: Houston, We Have a Problem arrives in stores April 29, 2015 with an MSRP of $19.95

Wallpapers

The Zombies that Ate the World

Zombies_boximage

Download the wallpaper per your resolution preference:

To download the wallpaper, right-click on the desired resolution then right-click on the image and choose "save image as..." to pick a download location.

1900x1200 - 1440x900 - 1280x1024 - 800x600


The Zombies that Ate the World

Zombies3_boximage

Download the wallpaper per your resolution preference:

To download the wallpaper, right-click on the desired resolution then right-click on the image and choose "save image as..." to pick a download location.

1900x1200 - 1440x900 - 1280x1024 - 800x600